A Midsummer Day’s Dream

One of my most vivid memories growing up in Israel is getting my ass kicked, and by older sister, no less. She was undoubtedly the God of me and I had to answer to her at all times. So I would spend my afternoon combing her perm, complimenting her on her bubble gum-pink balloon skirts, and help her cover her forearms in jelly bracelets. If I ever failed to worship the ground on which she walked and accidentally not clapped enough after another one of her ravishing Madonna impersonations, my ass would most likely get pretzeled by evening time. The bliss. However, if anyone else ever tried to hurt me, they’d be dead meat. The message was loud and clear: no one messed with my sister’s # 1 bitch.

I have no idea why I just shared that with you, but it feels really good to let go of that. *sigh*.. Much better. So, the weekend is coming up and one place that anybody who is doing everybody will be is the Andersonville Midsommerfest in Andersonville. The gay-and-lesbianic-friendly event features a ton of stuff, from a squillion restaurant stands, to four stages featuring live entertainment, and an excuse for many of Chicago’s sex-deprived to–and I’m quoting from the website–“dance around the Maypole.” A-hem. So yeah, if you are in the mood for some great music, a “pet parade” (I know, sounds dirty, but hey, it’s on their website), an enormous pole, or just feeling like escaping your abusive older sister, this is the place for you. Remember to wear lotion. I don’t want to see leather faces come Monday.

Midsommerfest will take place in Andersonville (Foster & Clark is a good bet), Saturday-Sunday, from 11:00a.m. to 10:00p.m.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

